The operation of Radio-Isotope laboratory Type II facility (185 kBq-185 MBq) (can handle Group III and Group IV isotopes), approved by Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), is commissioned and functioning in RGCB since 11/10/2011 to use radio-isotopes for the research purpose.

Registration No. Issuance Date Expiry Date
AERB/RSD/Res-Regn./KL-35421-16 31/05/2016 31/05/2021
Plan Approval reference no. & date Type of Radio-isotope Laboratory Radio-isotope Group
AERB/RSD/MR-Pin/KL-35/2015, 30-05-2015 Type II Group II & Group IV
Radiological Safety Officer Approval No. Issuance Date Expiry Date
Dr. P. Manoj
KL-35421-INST-19-RSO-377127 01-04-2019 01-04-2022

The facility is managed by a committee Central Radioactive Facility Management Committee (RGCB/DIR/INSTRUMENTATION/01/2012 dated Jan 23, 2012)

The laboratory follows,

  • Atomic Energy Act, 1962 and Atomic Energy (Radiation Protection) Rules, 2004.
  • Providing Personnel Monitoring badges and protective devices, as appropriate to all the personnel working in radio-isotope laboratory (Institute number 006871)

At present our facility is capable of handling 14C, 3H (Tritium-3) and Phosphorous-32(32P) isotopes, all these are beta radiation emitters and we have proper shielding by perspex barriers. Beta radiations are widely used for research applications because of its low penetrating power. Our facility is also capable of handling gamma radiation emitters which have to be shielded with lead/concrete barriers of varying thickness since gamma radiations are highly penetrating.

The lab is equipped with Scintillation counter, Phospher imager, Dry bath with rocker, Centrifuge, Gel drier, Deep freezer, Hybridization oven, safety devices (shields, gammascout, radeye, & radiation monitor) and waste (solid/liquid) disposal facility.

We practice all principles of "ALARA - As Low As Reasonably Achievable". The work is done under strict vigilance of the RSO and camera monitored. The usage and waste disposal is done in accordance with AERB norms.

Relavant Forms


Manoj P, PhD
Radiological safety officer (RSO)
+91-4712529438, 9249939990

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC)

All the laboratories in RGCB work with nucleic acids and carry out recombinant DNA experiments on hazardous and non-hazardous microorganisms as well as higher eukaryotic organisms. As mandated in the Rules 1989 of Environment (Protection) Act 1986, RGCB has constituted an institutional biosafety committee (BT/BS/17/37/2001-PID) as per the guidelines of DBT, Government of India, to facilitate the implementation of biosafety procedures to ensure safety from the use of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) and products thereof to the users as well as to the environment.

RGCB IBSC composition


Professor. M Radhakrishna Pillai
Director, RGCB

DBT Nominee

Dr. P Ajitkumar
Department of Microbiology and Cell Biology
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Medical Expert

Dr. K.E Elizabeth
Sree Mookambika Institute of Medical Sciences, Kanyakumari


Dr. Anoop Kumar Thekkuveetil, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology, Trivandrum
Dr. M.G Purushothama, Indus Seeds, Bangalore
Dr. E.V Soniya, RGCB
Dr. R.V Omkumar, RGCB
Dr. Moinak Banerjee, RGCB
Dr. E Sreekumar, RGCB

Member Secretary

Dr. R Ajay Kumar, RGCB

Relavant Forms


Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB),
Thycaud Post, Poojappura,
Thiruvananthapuram - 695 014, Kerala, India
+91-471-2529400 | 2347975 | 2348753